Sport, The Latest | |

The PwC Hurling All-Star nominations have been announced!

Did your favourite player make the team?

The shortlist of nominees for the PwC Hurling All-Stars have been announced with the newly crowned All-Ireland Champions Limerick dominating the list.

The GAA and GPA released the nominations today and 45 players have been shortlisted in total. Sticking to tradition, the nominations have been broken down into separate categories.

In total there are 3 goalkeepers, 18 defenders, 6 midfielders and 18 forwards nominated. The 15 winners that will comprise the PwC All-Star Hurling Team of 2018 will be announced on November the 2nd 2018, at a black-tie gala that will take place in Dublin’s Convention Centre. The awards ceremony will be broadcasted live on RTÉ.

How many from each county?

All of Limerick’s starting 15 from the All-Ireland Final have been given nominations nods. Galway received 9 in total, whereas Cork got 7. The rest of the breakdown is Clare 5, Kilkenny 5, Wexford 2 and Dublin and Tipperary both received 1.

The nominees for Hurler of the Year and Young of the Year were also announced. These awards are voted for by inter-county players. Joe Canning (Galway), Padraig Mannion (Galway) and Cian Lynch (Limerick) all received the nods for Hurler of the Year. Darragh Fitzgibbon (Limerick), Kyle Hayes (Limerick) and Martin Coleman (Cork) are nominated from Young Hurler of the Year.

PwC All-Star Hurling Nominations


1. Anthony Nash, Cork

2. Eoin Murphy, Kilkenny

3. Nicky Quaid, Limerick


1. Mark Coleman, Cork

2. Colm Spillane, Cork

3. David McInerney, Clare

4. Chris Crummey, Dublin

5. Dáithí Burke, Galway

6. Adrian Tuohy, Galway

7. Aidan Harte, Galway

8. Padraic Mannion, Galway

9. Cillian Buckley, Kilkenny

10. Padraig Walsh, Kilkenny

11. Sean Finn, Limerick

12. Mike Casey, Limerick

13. Richie English, Limerick

14. Diarmaid Byrnes, Limerick

15. Declan Hannon, Limerick

16. Dan Morrissey, Limerick

17. Paudie Foley, Wexford

18. Liam Ryan, Wexford


1. Colm Galvin, Clare

2. Darragh Fitzgibbon, Cork

3. David Burke, Galway

4. James Maher, Kilkenny

5. Cian Lynch, Limerick

6. Darragh O’Donovan, Limerick


1. Peter Duggan, Clare

2. John Conlon, Clare

3. Shane O’Donnell, Clare

4. Daniel Kearney, Cork

5. Seamus Harnedy, Cork

6. Pa Horgan, Cork

7. Joe Canning, Galway

8. Conor Whelan, Galway

9. Cathal Mannion, Galway

10. Jonathan Glynn, Galway

11. TJ Reid, Kilkenny

12. Kyle Hayes, Limerick

13. Gearoid Hegarty, Limerick

14. Tom Morrissey, Limerick

15. Aaron Gillane, Limerick

16. Seamus Flanagan, Limerick

17. Graeme Mulcahy, Limerick

18. Jason Forde, Tipperary

PwC GAA/GPA Hurler of the Year Nominees

1. Joe Canning, Galway

2. Padraic Mannion, Galway

3. Cian Lynch, Limerick

PwC GAA/GPA Young Player of the Year in Hurling Nominees

1. Darragh Fitzgibbon, Cork

2. Kyle Hayes, Limerick

3. Mark Coleman, Cork

We will have to sit tight until the 2nd of November to find out who the winners are, but let us know who you think is going to win!

Littlewoods Ireland are proud sponsors of the All Ireland Senior Hurling Championship. Keep yourself up to date with all the #StyleOfPlay action right here! 

Ellen McConville

Typically found on the sidelines or in Croke Park, Ellen is the Sports Content Editor for Littlewoods Ireland and your go-to gal for all things GAA. A big lover of all things Christy Moore, fashion and some wine and cheese as well.

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.